Krzysztof Penderecki / Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima

Worth reading these posts by Victoria Kelly about music that changes you.

Sound Purveyor

Guernica

“Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent” Victor Hugo

I first heard ‘Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima’ in 1987, when I was 14. I studied it at school along with thousands of other schoolchildren of my generation. At the time, New Zealand’s fear of a Third World War was intensifying as tensions between the United States and the USSR escalated. I was relatively ignorant of the political details at the time but I vividly remember films and TV programs about nuclear holocaust – ‘The Day After’ and ‘Threads’ – being played to us in the classroom, scaring the living daylights out of us and haunting our dreams for years to come (and I still wonder which social studies teacher thought that was a good idea).

When we discussed this piece of music at school I remember it serving not only to…

View original post 1,924 more words

Leave a Reply

